Skip to content

PALNI honors those who have made it a 25-year success

Pile of PALNI Award certificates with pair of hands holding one on the top of the pile
Hall of Fame certificates handed out to individual inductees. (Photo by: Megan West/PALNI)

The Private Academic Library Network of Indiana Inc. (PALNI) celebrated its 25th anniversary by presenting forty-seven awards of recognition on May 24th, 2017 at Marian University's Allison Mansion. PALNI, a non-profit organization supporting collaboration for library and information services to the libraries of its twenty-two supported institutions, was initially funded with a Lilly Endowment Inc. grant. The organization has successfully partnered to support innovation, learning, and cut costs for all PALNI institutions for more than a quarter century.

The Executive Director, Kirsten Leonard, gifted five categories of awards during the event. Each founding member attending the celebration received a Founders Award to recognize their creation of the PALNI organization. The Hall of Fame award was given to those who have helped to create the synergistic environment, strategic direction, and success PALNI has achieved. The Outstanding Achievement Award for Leadership in Deep Collaboration was bestowed to select library directors who have led the way in working together more deliberately and effectively. The Lifetime Visionary Award honors those in PALNI who have been able to understand the long-term demands on libraries and helped the organization to work together to meet those needs. Finally, the Heart of PALNI Award was given to staff who embody the warm, supportive culture of PALNI.

Founders Award

  • Eileen Saner, Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary
  • Ron Schuetz, Franklin College
  • Devon Yoder, Goshen College
  • William (Bill) Darr, Grace College and Theological Seminary
  • Walter Morrill, Hanover College
  • Randy Neuman, Huntington University
  • Rob Gratz, Manchester University
  • Cathy Salyers, Saint Joseph's College of Indiana
  • Robert Hodge, Taylor University
  • Mary Persyn, Valparaiso University

PALNI Hall of Fame

  • Karl Stutzman, Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary
  • James Bell, Anderson University
  • Amanda Starkel, Butler University
  • Franny Gaede, Butler University
  • Janice Gustaferro, Butler University
  • Josh Petrusa, Butler University
  • Richard Lammert, Concordia Theological Seminary
  • Brooke Cox, DePauw University
  • Bruce Sanders, DePauw University
  • Caroline Gilson, DePauw University
  • Ruth Szpunar, DePauw University
  • Sherri Parker, DePauw University
  • Sudha Anand, DePauw University
  • Jessica Mahoney, Franklin College
  • Susan Leach-Murray, Franklin College
  • Eric Bradley, Goshen College
  • Joe Springer, Goshen College
  • Rhoda Palmer, Grace College and Theological Seminary
  • Heather Loehr, Hanover College
  • Randy Neuman, Huntington University
  • Darla Haines, Manchester University
  • Doris Stephenson, Manchester University
  • Edward Mandity, Marian University
  • Colleen Gocken, MCLS
  • Susan Fipps, MCLS
  • Shawn Denny, Taylor University
  • Lauren Magnuson, Trine University/PALNI
  • Barb Chen, University of Saint Francis
  • Maureen McMahan, University of Saint Francis
  • Noah Brubaker, University of Indianapolis/PALNI

Outstanding Achievement Award for Leadership in Deep Collaboration 2017

  • Julie Miller, Butler University
  • Fritz Hartman, Goshen College
  • Anita Gray, Huntington University

Lifetime Visionary Award for Leadership in Deep Collaboration

  • Eileen Saner, Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary
  • Dan Bowell, Taylor University

Heart of PALNI Award

  • Carly Dannenmueller, PALNI & Butler University
  • Megan West, PALNI

Blog comments