Skip to content

2020-2021 PALSave Open Educator Award Recipients Named

PALNI's Affordable Learning Program, PALSave, has named eight faculty members from five PALNI schools recipients of the PALSave Open Educator Award for the 2020-2021 academic year. The Open Educator Award recognizes innovation and excellence in support of textbook affordability and student success. 

Name Institution Award Category
Laura Herder Butler University Open Education Champion
James McGrath Butler University Open Textbook Author
Brian Weidner Butler University Open Textbook Author
Humberto Barreto DePauw University Open Textbook Author
John Ross Buschert Goshen College Open Education Champion
Alejandra Rodriguez-Villar Hanover College Open Pedagogy Innovator
Valerie Young Hanover College Open Education Champion
Matthew DeLong Marian University Open Education Champion

Three categories of awards were given: Open Education Champion, Open Textbook Publisher, and Open Pedagogy Innovator. The Open Education Champion award was bestowed to faculty who adopted and integrated open educational resources (OERs) into their courses and advocated for their use with colleagues. The Open Textbook Author was awarded to those who created their own open textbook and/or course materials. The Open Pedagogy Innovator award was given to a professor who, already using open textbooks for course materials, empowered and facilitated the creation of a student-created open textbook as a classroom assignment.

We thank them for their participation and innovative work in open education with PALSave!

To find out more information for PALSave please see: